top of page
Search

Projects I'm working on this week.

Hey welcome back to another blog. This week I've been working on a new piece I created , using black yarn and 5 mm knitting needles. I've always wanted to try knitting something from top down or from bottom to top, so I started with the ribbing part of this piece, which was originally a collar for a top to bottom knit shirt but my calculations were off and too wide for a collar. I then decided that, that would be a good start to a bottom to top knit sweater shirt. Note: A top to bottom or a bottom to top knit piece is something you make by starting from the top of the piece like a collar continuing to the bottom or starting from the bottom of a piece like the ribbing continuing to the top.



I didn't want to make my knit top like the standard tops with the box front and back and short sleeves on the side but with the front and back knitted with indent arm holes so when you knit the shirt it will have a unique arm hole design. I've seen knit pieces like that before and was excited to give it a try.


As I was working towards the neck hole I decided to decrease the stitches to the length that I thought would be wide enough. Then I proceeded to work on the arm holes and I was excited to work on that part because I've never made a sweater in one piece or bottom up. I removed the cast ons for the neck hole onto another piece of yarn to save and finish after I work on the short sleeves. I worked on both sleeves which I was really excited to do and enjoyed doing. After I worked on the short sleeves I added the same ribbing from the bottom of the sweater shirt on the sleeves. I began working on the neck hole, adding the same ribbing from the bottom of the shirt and from the sleeves. After I finished the neck hole I cast off all the stitches and then got ready to wash and block it. To wash my knit and crochet pieces I like to hand wash them in a big bucket, I pour cold water and add laundry detergent, then let it soak for 30 minutes, after that I rinse it out in cold water and try to get out as much laundry detergent as I can. Want to see how I wash my knit and crochet pieces? Check out my new Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/reel/Ct7F7kgpv6h/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==) video on that. Would you like me to make a blog post on how to wash knit and crochet clothing? Let me know, I'll be glad too.



After I finished washing and rinsing it out, I laid it out on a towel on a table, then I pinned it down how I would like it to be and let it dry. Once it finished drying I was excited to try it on and see how it looked but then I found out something about the neck hole, I made it too small Chile lol, I tried removing some of the stitches from the neck hole that I decreased stitches from and then didn't try to put it on no more that day but the next day it was one of the hardest things to put on and I made it. I loved everything else the sleeves and the ribbing was perfect. It was so soft, comfortable and when you let it soak while washing it makes it smell amazing and fresh. Would you like to see how the sweater shirt came out, let me know down below!


Here are some videos I watched that helped!



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page